Nun’s Island condo history – McGill real estate broker agency Montreal

An island that has not finished shedding of ink

by Pierre Vigneault

January 14th, 2010

One of the most significant events in the history of the island is undoubtedly the sale of this land to a private company. This is certainly not a light heart that the nuns have taken this decision. They had experienced many difficulties since the beginning of the century and they have only become worse with the approach of the 50s.

Among the problems they have experienced include large floods, vandalism, theft and even labor disputes with employees. Do not forget that if the island could have great value for a property investor, it was uneconomic for anyone who ran for educational and agricultural.

Various government projects had been planned for the island, but they have not materialized. It order to achieve a major residential project that the island was acquired by the company “Home and Mortgage Quebec. The sales contract, signed in January 1956, reported a price of $ 1 300 000 and various conditions were attached. Without specifying all the elements, we can say that the sisters insisted that the island is not transformed into “amusement parks”; its development should be for residential, commercial and industrial.

For the investor plans to materialize, it was essential that the island is connected to the mainland and is incorporated into a municipal entity. Separated from Verdun by an arm of water just a few hundred meters, so it is with this city that steps for annexation have been undertaken even before the acquisition of the island. The city of Montreal showed, too, interested, but eventually Verdun which annexed the territory of the island. The various incidents that have marked these discussions and negotiations are described in great detail in the book Jacques Lacoursière (L’ile-des-Soeurs – From yesterday to today). In the archives of newspapers Transcontinental Group (which includes the magazine) there is also extensive information on early history of the island during this period and throughout the last century.

To complete this portion of its records, the author of these lines has obtained the cooperation of Samuel Gewurz, President of the corporation Proment which, as we know, is very active in the development of L’Île-des-Soeurs .

Samuel Gewurz was only 15 when his father signed with other representatives of Quebec Home and Mortgage, the purchase agreement of St. Paul Island. The future holds a leading role in the evolution of the island, but before he begins to exercise, the initial plans had been repeatedly modified.

The Metropolitan Structures

When, in 1967, they proceeded to the first shovelful of earth on the “City of Dreams’, is a company headquartered in Chicago, Metropolitan Structures Incorporated (SMI) was” tenant “of the island whole. She had obtained a leasehold for a term of 99 years, which was, according to Samuel Gewurz, a real “developer’s deal. SMI obtained the privilege of not paying a penny in rent during the first ten years of the agreement and it enjoyed protection against inflation for a period of 45 years. The company must however pay the full taxes on the property (the whole island) and, from the eleventh year of the lease, pay an annual rent of 7.18 cents per square foot net for the developed portion of the island.

In the years before the construction of the first building, the remaining obstacles to the development of the island had been removed. The Champlain Bridge was completed in 1962 and measures had been taken to ensure the extension of public services to future residents.

GOOGLE TRANSLATE



Leave a Reply


Title X

Histoire Condo Ile des Soeurs- Courtier agence McGill immobilier Montreal

Une île qui n’a pas fini de faire couler de l’encre

par Pierre Vigneault

14 janvier 2010

L’un des faits les plus marquants de l’histoire de l’île est sans contredit la cession de ce territoire à une société privée. Ce n’est sûrement pas de gaité de coeur que les religieuses ont pris cette décision. Elles avaient éprouvé de multiples difficultés, depuis le début du siècle et celles-ci n’ont fait que s’aggraver à l’approche des années 50.

Parmi les problèmes qu’elles ont vécus, on peut citer d’importantes inondations, le vandalisme, le vol et même les conflits de travail avec les employés. Il ne faut pas oublier que si l’île pouvait avoir une grande valeur pour un investisseur immobilier, elle était peu rentable pour quiconque l’exploitait à des fins éducatives et agricoles.

Divers projets gouvernementaux avaient été envisagés pour l’île, mais ils ne se sont pas matérialisés. C’est afin d’y réaliser un important projet résidentiel que l’île a été acquise par la société «Quebec Home and Mortgage». Le contrat de vente, signé en janvier 1956, fait état d’un prix de 1 300 000$ et diverses conditions y étaient rattachées. Sans en préciser tous les éléments, on peut retenir que les sœurs tenaient à ce que l’île ne soit pas transformée en «parcs d’amusement»; son développement devait se faire à des fins résidentielles, commerciales et industrielles.

Pour que les plans des investisseurs puissent se concrétiser, il était indispensable que l’île soit reliée à la terre ferme et qu’elle soit intégrée à une entité municipale. Séparée de Verdun par un bras d’eau d’à peine quelques centaines de mètres, c’est donc avec cette ville que des démarches pour l’annexion ont été entreprises, avant même l’acquisition de l’île. La ville de Montréal se montrait, elle aussi, intéressée, mais c’est finalement Verdun qui a annexé le territoire de l’île. Les diverses péripéties qui ont marqué ces discussions et négociations sont décrites avec beaucoup de détails dans le livre de Jacques Lacoursière (L’île-des-Soeurs – D’hier à aujourd’hui). Dans les archives des journaux du Groupe Transcontinental, (dont fait partie Le Magazine) on trouve également de nombreuses informations sur la petite histoire de l’île, au cours de cette période, et pendant tout le siècle dernier.

Pour compléter cette tranche de ses dossiers, l’auteur de ces lignes a obtenu la collaboration de Samuel Gewurz, le président de la corporation Proment qui, comme on le sait, participe très activement au développement du quartier de L’Île-des-Soeurs.

Samuel Gewurz n’avait que 15 ans, lorsque son père a signé, avec les autres représentants de Quebec Home and Mortgage, le contrat d’achat de l’île Saint-Paul. L’avenir lui réservait un rôle de premier plan dans l’évolution de l’île, mais avant qu’il commence à l’exercer, les projets initiaux avaient maintes fois été modifiés.

Les Structures Métropolitaines

Quand, en 1967, on procèda à la première pelletée de terre sur la «Cité de rêve», c’est une compagnie dont le siège social est à Chicago, Structures Métropolitaines Incorporée (SMI) qui était «locataire» de l’île en entier. Elle avait obtenu un bail emphytéotique d’une durée de 99 ans, qui constituait, selon Samuel Gewurz, un véritable «developer’s deal». SMI obtenait le privilège de ne pas payer un sou de loyer pendant les dix premières années de l’entente et elle jouissait d’une protection contre l’inflation pour une période de 45 ans. La compagnie devait cependant acquitter la totalité des impôts fonciers sur la propriété (l’île entière) et, à partir de la onzième année du bail, acquitter un loyer annuel de 7,18 ¢ le pied carré net pour la partie aménagée de l’île.

Dans les années précédant la construction du premier édifice, les derniers obstacles au développement de l’île avaient été levés. Le pont Champlain avait été complété, en 1962 et des mesures avaient été prises pour assurer l’extension des services publics aux futurs résidants.



Laisser une réponse


Title X