DISTRICT GRIFFIN, Griffintown Montreal, the up-and-coming neighbourhood in Canada!

District Griffin is nominated Quebec’s up-and-coming neighbourhood in Canada.

http://enroute.aircanada.com/fr/articles/premiers-quartiers-montreal

Settled at the beginning of the XIXth century by Irish immigrants who built Montreal’s canals and bridges, Griffintown is named after Mary Griffin, who was said to have stolen the property titles of this lot. When the St-Lawrence inland waterways became the entrance to the city, Griffintown was classified as an industrial zone and was depopulated down to 810 inhabitants in 1971. However, the neighbourhood has regained momentum thanks to new condos, an influx of gourmet hidden gems and Fashion week in Montreal, all playing a role in its “trendiness”. Let’s just call it luck of the Irish!

EnRoute Magazine just profiled Montreal’s Griffintown as one of Canada’s up-and-coming neighbourhoods. It has a sketchy past but it’s gone from being essentially an industrial park to a place where some of the most talked about restaurants and shops are moving in, as well as residents. En Route’s Laura Osborne spoke with Sonali Karnick.

“The neighbourhood of the hour in Montreal is Griffintown, hands down. It is located on the south side of Downtown Montreal and west side of the Bonaventure highway, bordering the Lachine Canal. What is currently happening in Griffintown has never been seen in the history of the development of Montreal”, declared Mayor Dorais, Mayor of the borough before the Chambre de commerce et d’industrie du Sud-Ouest. This is a radical transformation of a vast territory whose attractiveness is phenomenal”

http://affaires.lapresse.ca/economie/immobilier/201011/11/01-4341490-griffintown-un-boom-immobilier-jamais-vu-a-montreal.php

District Griffin

Griffintown is largely known by the public today because of a major project built by Devimco who is considered a leader in Griffintown’s revitalization as well as one of the largest developers. Devimco is setting forth a pioneering living concept integrating businesses, offices, hotels as well as restaurants. Devimco, in collaboration with McGill Real Estate, a real estate agency, just launched the 4th phase of the District Griffin project sooner than anticipated due to an accelerated sales rate sustained by a strong demand. Visit the largest sales office in Canada at the corner Peel and Wellington.

 

District Griffin: investors barely at 5%

Monday, October 1st, 2012

Serge Goulet, President of Devimco, is the first one to be astonished by the fact that District Griffin does not attract a lot of investors. This mega complex, whose construction is progressing full force, will add up to between 1800 and 2000 condos in Grifintown. “Thus, barely 5% of the buyers of the first three phases are investors”, indicated Mr. Goulet who was interviewed this afternoon. “It’s surprising, considering all the hype around Griffintown”, he said. Devimco forthright asks its buyers whether they will live in their condo once the construction is complete. The survey reveals that 95% will be occupying-owners in this project. Although impossible to verify, some sources say that about 15% of new condo buyers are investors in Montreal, which is much less than in Toronto and Vancouver. Whatever the case, Devimco is very happy with the sales made thus far at District Griffin. The team even moved forward the launch of Phase 4, which was held last Saturday. “A few hundred people were in attendance and more than 40 condos were sold”, indicated Serge Goulet. The first phase of the project (188 condos) is sold at 90%, the second one (114 condos) is at 70% and the third (135 condos) is at 40%, specified the developer. Serge Goulet is watching the slowing down of the market closely but specifies that demand is still steady. Prices at District Griffin, at about $385 a square foot before taxes, allow the project to set itself apart from others around the Bell Centre, according to the developer. These luxurious towers are rather asking for between $500 and $600.

http://blogues.lapresse.ca/lapresseaffaires/immobilier/2012/10/01/district-griffin-a-peine-5-dinvestisseurs/

 

http://www.lapresse.ca/actualites/regional/montreal/201210/19/01-4584921-griffintown-plus-vert-mais-sans-ecole.php

A greener Griffintown

The Griffintown sector.

The City of Montreal finally has a plan to outline the development of Griffintown. The Special Planning Programme (SPP) project of Downtown’s neighbouring borough was unveiled Thursday.

New public spaces, conservation of inheritance, arteries uniting the boroughs, 100 million dollars worth of investments, the Programme answers to all the main criticism on the unrestrained real estate development. The SPP project will be studied in Public Consultation at the beginning of next year.

> 6 parks and places

Six new public spaces, parks or places, are planned for on and around mostly Ottawa Street.

> 93 million dollars

Investments of 93 million dollars, over four years, namely for the purchase of new properties for State Property. In all, 47 actions are stated in the SPP, starting from walkways to the opening of streets.

> 8000 residential units

There are 1500 residential units in Griffintown. Another 8000 are planned for, among which 4700 are already approved. The commercially occupied areas should go from 30 000 to 180 000 m2.

> Schools

No property was set aside for schools, however “school boards and private schools” are interested, according to Michael Appelbaum, President of the City’s Executive Committee.

> Stable

The Horse Palace stable, formerly the urban stable of the continent (1862), will be acquired to be transformed into a “commemorative green space”, a project that was mentioned at the end of the summer followed by rumours of it being demolished. The safekeeping of the stable is already guaranteed.

> Cultural corridor

A “cultural corridor” will be set up on William and Ottawa Streets. The height of the building is revised to be lower on the northern side of the sector.

> Promenade

The former Lower Lachine Street will be transformed into Smith Promenade, a walkway, to join Griffintown and Old Montreal under the train tracks according to last spring’s architectural contest Laureate prize-winner’s plans.

 

http://voir.ca/voir-la-vie/art-de-vivre/2012/09/20/griffintown-griffintown-en-cinq-temps/

Griffintown at five different times

September 20, 2012

(….)Because everyone wants to move there and call it home. Voir proposes a guided tour of the Griffintown neighbourhood (…)

Located in the southwestern part of Montreal, Griffintown is bordered by the Lachine Canal and Notre Dame Street, a few hundred yards away from Old Montreal and Downtown Montreal. Condos are springing up all over the place. But before becoming a hip district, The Griff was known as a working and industrial sector.

«It was Montreal’s first suburb. And it was also there that the first North American grid design of streets was planned”, explains the Committee for Sustainable Redevelopment of Griffintown’s spoke-person, Jeffrey Dungen. In the 19th century, several penniless Irishmen who participated in the building of the Lachine Canal and the Victoria Bridge, inhabited it. “It became the cradle of the industrial revolution in Canada because of the Lachine Canal.

The Resurrection

Griffintown became the buzzword

The neighbourhood started to be revitalized at the turning of the 21st century thanks to the Lachine Canal being accessible for yachting, to municipal projects at the Recollets Faubourg, the Cité Multimédia and the establishment l’École de technologie supérieure in the Dow-O’Keefe Brewery.

And then, there was the first condo project. “Devimco, a real estate developer, submitted a project to the city who decided to make a special urbanism plan”, says the Mayor of the South-West Borough, Benoit Dorais. The sector was therefore de-zoned, in order to increase the residential portion, allowing for development more in height and density. “This created a craze and awoke the other real estate contractors. There was a chain effect,” (…)

Other than its trendy reputation and its strategic geographical location, it is especially Griffintown’s historical side that gives it its charm. “Emphasis must be put on this history, affirms Jeffrey Dungen. Most of the residents are very happy that this neighbourhood became so popular. The fact that more and more are talking about it makes its history known.” (…)

http://voir.ca/voir-la-vie/art-de-vivre/2012/10/18/griffintown-en-cinq-temps-2/

(…) “It wasn’t everyone that agreed to go ahead with the construction of the tower of condos in Griffintown. Personnally, I find that the neighbourhood needs life, therefore residences. Creating a city, takes a certain density. It’s not like building a suburb.» affirms Paul-Émile Rioux, who has been living in The Griff for the past 25 years. Knowing this neighbourhood inside out, this artist and photographer mentions a few interesting addresses among the (quite) numerous real estate projects. (…)

District Griffin

Lead by the real estate development company Devimco, District Griffin is a multiphase project whose fourth phase was just launched. “Since Devimco was responsible for most of the rezoning of Griffintown in order to revitalize it, it laid its hands on beautiful green spaces and properties near the waterfront”, emphasizes Patrice Groleau, owner of McGill Real Estate, in charge of the sales of the project.

According to town planning based on today’s reality, Devimco usually sets its residential towers on two commercial floors occupied by basic services businesses (pharmacy, grocery store, etc.) Sold starting at $385 a square foot, the condos are offered in an assortment of models and with different layouts, among which some units include three bedrooms and an office.

(…) “There are not many rentals on the territory where Griffintown is establishing itself. In fact, there were never that many houses since it was a working sector. Practically no rentals are being built in the new development. Which is the case a little all over Montreal nowadays” explains Paul-Émile Rioux, the artist, owner of a building in Griffintown which houses her home, workshop and a few apartments. “It’s possible to rent in the neighbourhood but difficult to find. Griffintown’s largest rental area is currently the student residence of l’École de technologie supérieure.”

Paul-Émile Rioux never hesitates to recommend Griffintown to whomever who would like to move there. “A truly fun neighbourhood is being born.” (…)



Leave a Reply


Title X

DISTRICT GRIFFIN, Griffintown Montreal, le quartier Canadien en ébullition!

District Griffin nommé le quartier Québécois le plus prometteur du Canada.

http://enroute.aircanada.com/fr/articles/premiers-quartiers-montreal

Peuplé au début du XIXe par les immigrants irlandais qui ont bâti les canaux et ponts de Montréal, Griffintown doit son nom à Mary Griffin, qui avait, dit-on, volé les titres de propriété de ce lot. Quand la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent est devenue la porte d’entrée de la ville, Griffintown a été classé zone industrielle et s’est dépeuplé jusqu’à un creux de 810 habitants en 1971. Mais le quartier a repris son élan, grâce à de nouveaux condos, à un afflux de repaires de gourmets et à la Semaine de mode de Montréal, indices certains de sa « branchitude ». Appelons ça la chance des irlandais.

La revue EnRoute vient de nommer le Griffintown de Montréal comme étant un des quartiers les plus prometteurs. Ce dernier a un passé un peu ambigu mais ce parc industriel est maintenant devenu une place où les restaurants et boutiques les plus parlés ainsi que des résidents veulent s’installer. Laura Osborne de En Route a eu une discussion avec Sonali Karnick.

« Le quartier de l’heure à Montréal est celui de Griffintown, sans conteste. Soit au sud du centre-ville et à l’ouest de l’autoroute Bonaventure, en bordure du canal Lachine. «Ce qui se passe actuellement dans Griffintown, c’est du jamais vu dans l’histoire du développement de Montréal, a déclaré récemment M. Dorais, maire de l’arrondissement, devant la chambre de commerce et d’industrie du Sud-Ouest. C’est une transformation radicale d’un territoire qui est immense, et dont l’attractivité est phénoménale»

http://affaires.lapresse.ca/economie/immobilier/201011/11/01-4341490-griffintown-un-boom-immobilier-jamais-vu-a-montreal.php

District Griffin

Griffintown est plus connu du grand public aujourd’hui en raison du vaste projet de l’entreprise Devimco qui est l’instigateur de la revitalisation et le plus grand promoteur immobilier de Griffintown. Devimco présente un concept d’habitation novateur intégrant des commerces, des bureaux, de l’hôtellerie et de la restauration. Devimco en collaboration avec l’agence immobilière McGill immobilier vient de lancer la 4e phase du projet District Griffin plus rapidement que prévu, vu un rythme de vente accéléré soutenu par une forte demande. Visitez le plus grand bureau des ventes au Canada à l’angle des rues Peel et Wellington.

 

District Griffin: à peine 5% d’investisseurs

Lundi, le 1er octobre 2012

Serge Goulet, le président de Devimco, est le premier surpris: le projet District Griffin attire très peu d’investisseurs. Ce méga complexe, dont la construction progresse à vive allure, comptera à terme entre 1800 et 2000 condos dans Griffintown. Or, à peine 5% des acheteurs des trois premières phases sont des investisseurs, a indiqué M. Goulet en entrevue cet après-midi. “C’est surprenant, considérant tout le battage médiatique qu’il y a eu autour de Griffintown”, a-t-il dit. Devimco demande noir sur blanc à ses acheteurs s’ils comptent occuper le condo une fois la construction terminée. Le questionnaire révèle que 95% seront des propriétaires-occupants dans ce projet. Selon certaines sources, environ 15% des acheteurs de condos neufs seraient des investisseurs à Montréal, beaucoup moins qu’à Toronto et Vancouver. Une donnée impossible à vérifier, puisqu’aucune statistique fiable n’existe sur le sujet. Quoi qu’il en soit, Devimco se dit très satisfaite des ventes obtenues à ce jour au District Griffin. Le groupe a même devancé de quelques mois le lancement de la phase 4, qui s’est tenu samedi dernier. « Quelques centaines de personnes s’y sont rendues, et plus de 40 condos ont été vendus », a indiqué Serge Goulet. La première phase du projet (188 condos) est vendue à 90%, la 2e (114 condos) à 70% et la 3e (135 condos) à 40%, a souligné le promoteur. Serge Goulet dit surveiller de très près les signes de ralentissement du marché, mais il souligne que la demande demeure soutenue. Les prix pratiqués au District Griffin –environ 385$ du pied carré avant les taxes– lui permettent de se démarquer des autres autour du Centre Bell, selon lui. Ces tours luxueuses exigent plutôt entre 500$ et 600$.

http://blogues.lapresse.ca/lapresseaffaires/immobilier/2012/10/01/district-griffin-a-peine-5-dinvestisseurs/

http://www.lapresse.ca/actualites/regional/montreal/201210/19/01-4584921-griffintown-plus-vert-mais-sans-ecole.php

Griffintown plus vert

Le secteur Griffintown.

Montréal a enfin un plan pour encadrer la mise en valeur de Griffintown. Le projet de Programme particulier d’urbanisme (PPU) du quartier voisin du centre-ville a été dévoilé jeudi.

Nouveaux espaces publics, conservation du patrimoine, liens unissant le quartier, investissements de 100 millions, le plan répond aux principales critiques sur la construction immobilière débridée du secteur. Par contre, aucun terrain n’a été réservé pour une école. Le projet de PPU sera étudié en consultation publique au début de l’an prochain.

> 6 parcs et places

Six nouveaux espaces publics, des parcs ou des places, sont prévus, la plupart de part et d’autre de la rue Ottawa.

> 93 millions de dollas

Des investissements de 93 millions sur quatre ans sont prévus, notamment pour l’achat de nouveaux terrains pour le domaine public. En tout, 47 actions sont énumérées par le PPU, d’allées piétonnes à l’ouverture de nouvelles rues.

> 8000 logements

Il y a 1500 unités d’habitation dans Griffintown. Quelque 8000 autres sont prévues, dont 4700 sont déjà approuvées. La superficie des commerces devrait passer de 30 000 à 180 000 m2.

> Écoles

Aucun terrain n’a été prévu pour des écoles, mais «des commissions scolaires et des écoles privées» sont intéressées, selon Michael Appelbaum, président du comité exécutif de la Ville.

> Écurie

Le paddock de l’écurie Horse Palace, plus ancienne écurie urbaine du continent (1862), sera acquis pour être transformé en «espace vert commémoratif», un projet annoncé à la fin de l’été après des rumeurs de démolition. La sauvegarde de l’écurie est déjà assurée.

> Corridor culturel

Un «corridor culturel» sera aménagé dans les rues William et Ottawa. La hauteur des immeubles est revue à la baisse dans le nord du secteur.

> Promenade

L’ancienne rue Lower Lachine ressuscitera par l’aménagement en partie piétonnier de la promenade Smith, pour relier Griffintown et le Vieux-Montréal en passant sous la voie ferrée, selon les plans du lauréat d’un concours d’architecture tenu le printemps dernier.

http://voir.ca/voir-la-vie/art-de-vivre/2012/09/20/griffintown-griffintown-en-cinq-temps/

Griffintown Griffintown en cinq temps

20 septembre 2012

(….) Parce que tout le monde semble vouloir y déménager ses pénates, Voir propose un tour guidé du quartier Griffintown (…)

Situé dans le sud-ouest de Montréal, Griffintown est bordé par le canal de Lachine et la rue Notre-Dame, à quelques encablures du Vieux-Montréal et du centre-ville. Les condos y poussent comme des champignons. Mais avant de devenir le nouveau secteur hip, Le Griff était un quartier ouvrier et industriel.

«Ça a été la première banlieue de Montréal. C’est aussi là qu’on a fait le premier quadrillage de rues planifié en Amérique du Nord», raconte le porte-parole du Comité pour le sain redéveloppement de Griffintown, Jeffrey Dungen. Au 19e siècle, plusieurs Irlandais sans le sou, qui participaient à la construction du canal de Lachine et du pont Victoria y habitaient. «C’est devenu le berceau de la révolution industrielle du Canada à cause du canal de Lachine.»

La résurrection

Griffintown est devenu un buzzword

Le secteur a commencé à se redynamiser au tournant des années 2000 grâce à la réouverture du canal de Lachine à la navigation de plaisance, aux projets municipaux du faubourg des Récollets et de la Cité du multimédia, et à l’arrivée de l’École de technologie supérieure dans la Brasserie Dow-O’Keefe.

Puis, il y a eu un premier projet de condos. «Le promoteur immobilier Devimco a soumis un projet à la Ville, qui a décidé de faire un plan particulier d’urbanisme (PPU)», expose le maire de l’arrondissement du Sud-Ouest, Benoit Dorais. Le secteur a donc été dézoné, question d’en augmenter la portion résidentielle, tout en permettant plus de hauteur et de densité. «Ça a créé un engouement et éveillé la conscience des autres entrepreneurs immobiliers. Il y a eu un effet d’entraînement.» (…)

Outre sa réputation trendy et son positionnement stratégique, c’est surtout le côté historique de Griffintown qui charme. «Et il faut mettre cette histoire en valeur, affirme Jeffrey Dungen. La plupart des résidents sont très contents que le quartier soit devenu populaire. Le fait que de plus en plus de monde en parle permet d’en faire connaître l’histoire.» (…)

http://voir.ca/voir-la-vie/art-de-vivre/2012/10/18/griffintown-en-cinq-temps-2/

(…) «Ce n’est pas tout le monde qui était d’accord avec la construction de tours à condos dans Griffintown. Mais personnellement, je considère que ça prend de la vie dans le quartier, et donc de l’habitat. Et créer la ville, ça nécessite une certaine densité. Ça ne se construit pas comme une banlieue», affirme Paul-Émile Rioux, qui habite Le Griff depuis 25 ans. Connaissant très bien le secteur, l’artiste et photographe indique quelques adresses intéressantes parmi les (très!) nombreux projets immobiliers. (…)

District Griffin

Piloté par la société de développement immobilier Devimco, District Griffin est un projet multiphase, dont la quatrième vient tout juste d’être lancée. «Comme c’est le promoteur Devimco qui a fait changer la majorité du zonage de Griffintown pour le revitaliser, il a mis la main sur de belles zones de verdure et sur des terrains au bord de l’eau», souligne Patrice Groleau, propriétaire de l’agence McGill immobilier, chargée de la vente du projet.

Dans un urbanisme basé sur la réalité d’aujourd’hui, Devimco a l’habitude d’asseoir ses tours résidentielles sur deux étages à vocation commerciale, où se retrouvent les principaux services de base (pharmacie, épicerie, etc.). Vendus à partir de 385$ le pied carré, les condos sont offerts en plusieurs modèles et configurations, dont des unités comprenant trois chambres à coucher et un bureau.

(…) «Il n’existe plus beaucoup de location sur le territoire où s’érige Griffintown. En fait, il n’y a jamais eu beaucoup d’habitations puisque c’était un quartier ouvrier. Et dans le nouveau bâti, il ne se construit à peu près pas de locatif. Comme c’est le cas un peu partout à Montréal présentement», explique l’artiste Paul-Émile Rioux, propriétaire d’un immeuble dans Griffintown abritant son domicile, son atelier et quelques logements. «C’est possible de louer dans le quartier, mais c’est plutôt difficile à trouver. Actuellement, le plus grand parc locatif de Griffintown, ce sont les résidences étudiantes de l’École de technologie supérieure.»

Paul-Émile Rioux n’hésite jamais à recommander Griffintown à quiconque songe y faire son nid. «C’est vraiment un quartier tout à fait le fun qui est en train de naître.» (…)



Laisser une réponse


Title X