Prestige returning to Old Montreal – Old Montreal Real Estate

Interview with Mickael Chaput, real estate broker with the McGill real estate agency Condo Montreal

graham lanktree

MONTREAL— Special to Globe and Mail

The 350-year-old cobblestone streets of Old Montreal are always good for a romantic walk, but these days they hold some of Canada’s hottest commercial real estate opportunities.

After languishing for decades behind boarded-up windows, dozens of the area’s centuries-old buildings are being transformed.

Once again people are pouring into the area as old commercial structures are given new life as condo developments. “Within the last 10 years, the number of people living there has jumped from 5,000 to 50,000,” says Mickael Chaput, a broker with McGill Real Estate, who represents multiple properties in the area.

What’s to come is even more remarkable. New private and public building and infrastructure projects promise to dramatically raise the district’s profile – and property values – in the next decade.

Walking down the streets of the old banking district, though, it becomes apparent from all the à vendre or à louer signs decking the filigreed 19th-century facades for sale or lease that the market for office properties lags behind – but not for long.

“On average in 2012, we will see prices for office space increasing here by $1 to $2 per square foot,” said Mr. Chaput, adding that property in Old Montreal has been selling from between $350 to $650 a square foot depending on its condition and location. “Owners are finally starting to get demand for their properties and they want to revamp what they have or sell.”

The city’s first skyscraper, the 1887 red sandstone New York Life building at 511 Place d’Armes, has had its lobby gutted and the rest of the building redone. “Now it’s getting booked month after month,” Mr. Chaput says, meaning the elegant eight-storey building with its distinctive clock tower is once again filling with tenants.

Next door at the grey Aldred, the 1931 art deco limestone that mimics the gothic Notre-Dame Basilica across the street, Michel Bensmihen, the agent in charge of leasing, is pleased with the city’s $60-million redesign of the central Place d’Armes. Mr. Bensmihen says the refreshed square in front of the building will help to boost its status.

“We’re starting to see companies leaving their downtown office space and giving Old Montreal a try,” observes Andrew Maravita, Colliers International’s managing director for the Montreal region. “The old buildings that have been converted to loft-style space have a very nice feel to them that appeals to technology and knowledge companies and their employees,” he adds. “It’s accessible and you’re right by the waterfront, so it’s a fun place to work.”

Last year, AbitibiBowater Inc. relocated its head office from downtown to 50,000 square feet of space on the edge of Old Montreal. And lately, Mr. Chaput says, law firms with headquarters downtown are looking to relocate there too. “They’ve been asking me to find them space in Old Montreal,” he says, “since it’s becoming very prestigious to have your office there.”

New municipal and private building projects already under way will only serve to increase that cachet. To the south, on the waterfront, a $180-million plan to improve the federal lands of the Old Port will establish an urban beach, convert an old warehouse into an international exhibition centre and grow and improve green spaces.

To the west, as part of the more than $175-million Montreal 2025 plan, the city is changing the infrastructure of the raised Bonaventure expressway, which links the island of Montreal to the city’s South Shore. “We’re going to lower part of the expressway to ground level and split the north and south lanes into separate streets,” says Richard Deschamps, vice-chairman of the city’s executive committee for economic development and infrastructure.

Already on track for completion in 2014, “the plan will integrate the residential Griffintown neighbourhood, Old Montreal and downtown,” Mr. Deschamps says, adding that this pedestrian friendly approach will consolidate and renew the area’s economic potential. Just a couple of streets over to the north from Place d’Armes square, construction of the $2-billion CHUM superhospital is also under way for completion in 2019.

Nevertheless, despite all this activity, there’s a disparity in the quality of office space available. Some long-time building owners haven’t invested money in turning their assets around and are sitting on properties as they stood more than 20 years ago.

The Royal Bank’s first headquarters at 221 Saint-Jacques West remained empty since the late 1980s before being scooped up for a new 43-condo development set to open in 2013, Mr. Chaput says.

“With the vacancy rate relatively low at 5.6 per cent, there’s good demand for office space in Old Montreal,” Mr. Maravita adds, “but you have to have the right product to attract the tenants out in the market.” Pockets of old buildings that are empty or haven’t been renovated yet are opportunities to be repositioned for the future.

Those looking to capitalize, however, should ask themselves what they’re going to do with the property to make it a viable investment. “You have to really have a purpose of what you’re going to do with these buildings,” Mr. Maravita says, “because any property sitting in Old Montreal has heritage restrictions on it.”

These restrictions make the buildings very expensive to renovate and many have been neglected. “Often the floors are off kilter in these buildings,” says Robert Ruscio, a retail designer who has worked in the area. “In one case, we went into the basement and found a problem with one of the support beams.”

Parking is another disadvantage, Mr. Ruscio says. “It’s very limited and hard to find. The streets are narrow and sometimes your clients or employees will get a ticket.” This is a vital issue for those looking to create or purchase office space. “There’s no underground parking and that’s the major drawback of the area,” echoes Mr. Maravita.

Although the city recognizes that parking is a concern, “we’re bringing back the streets for pedestrians,” Mr. Deschamps says. “We’d like to invite people to walk more, use the subway, buses and the excellent Bixi bike rental system we’ve developed.”

In the end, Old Montreal’s European mentality is what makes it unique, Mr. Ruscio says, and he appreciates efforts to keep it that way. “There’s no other place in North America where you can experience the same feeling of old world Europe,” he says.



Leave a Reply


Title X

Le Prestige de retour dans le Vieux-Montréal – Immobilier Vieux-Montréal

Entrevue de Mickael Chaput, courtier immobilier pour l’agence immobilière McGill immobilier Condo Montréal

(GOOGLE TRANSLATE)

Graham Lanktree

MONTRÉAL- spécial du Globe and Mail

Les rues pavées de 350 ans du Vieux-Montréal sont toujours bon pour une promenade romantique, mais ces jours-ci qu’ils détiennent certains des plus chauds du Canada des occasions commerciales et immobilières.

Après avoir langui pendant des décennies derrière arraisonné des fenêtres, des dizaines de centenaires de la région des bâtiments se transforment.

Une fois de plus les gens affluent dans la région comme les anciennes structures commerciales sont donné une nouvelle vie comme la construction de condominiums. « Au cours des 10 dernières années, le nombre de gens qui y vivent est passé de 5.000 à 50.000», explique Mickael Chaput, un courtier à l’Université McGill Immobilier, qui représente plusieurs propriétés dans la région.

Qu’est-ce qui est à venir est encore plus remarquable. Nouveaux publics et privés des projets de construction et des infrastructures promettent de considérablement augmenter le profil de l’arrondissement – et les valeurs de propriété – dans la prochaine décennie.

Marcher dans les rues de la vieille quartier des banques, cependant, il devient évident de tous les vendre A ou A LOUER signes platelage en filigrane les façades du 19e siècle pour vente ou la location que le marché des immeubles de bureaux est à la traîne – mais pas pour longtemps.

«En moyenne, en 2012, nous allons voir les prix pour l’espace de bureau croissantes ici par 1 $ à 2 $ le pied carré», a déclaré M. Chaput, ajoutant que la propriété dans le Vieux-Montréal a été la vente d’entre 350 $ à 650 $ le pied carré en fonction de son état et l’emplacement. «Les propriétaires commencent enfin à obtenir la demande pour leurs propriétés et ils veulent moderniser ce qu’ils ont ou de vendre. »

Premier gratte-ciel de la ville, le bâtiment de grès rouge 1887 New York Life au 511, Place d’Armes, a eu son hall éviscéré et le reste de l’immeuble refait à neuf. « Maintenant, ça devient mois après mois réservé », dit M. Chaput, ce qui signifie l’élégant bâtiment de huit étages avec sa tour de l’horloge distinctif est une fois de plus le remplissage avec les locataires.

Juste à côté, à la Aldred gris, le 1931 art déco calcaire qui imite le gothique Notre-Dame à travers la rue, Michel Bensmihen, l’agent en charge du crédit-bail, est heureux de refonte 60 millions de dollars de la ville de la place centrale d’Armes . M. Bensmihen dit la place rafraîchie en face de l’immeuble, contribueront à renforcer son statut.

« Nous commençons à voir des entreprises quitter leur espace de bureau au centre-ville et en donnant le Vieux-Montréal un essai», observe Andrew Maravita, directeur général de Colliers International pour la région de Montréal. « Les vieux bâtiments qui ont été converties en style loft espace ont une très belle se sentent à eux qui fait appel à des entreprises technologiques et de connaissances et de leurs employés», at-il ajouté. « Il est accessible et vous avez raison par le front de mer, donc c’est un endroit agréable pour travailler. »

L’an dernier, AbitibiBowater Inc déménagé son siège social du centre-ville de 50.000 pieds carrés d’espace sur le bord du Vieux-Montréal. Et dernièrement, M. Chaput dit, les cabinets d’avocats du centre-ville avec le siège social est à la recherche de déménager là aussi. « Ils ont été me demander de leur trouver un espace dans le Vieux-Montréal, » dit-il, «car il devient très prestigieux d’avoir votre bureau là-bas. »

Nouveaux projets de construction municipaux et privés déjà en cours ne servira qu’à augmenter ce cachet. Pour le sud, sur le front de mer, un plan de 180 millions de dollars pour améliorer les terres fédérales du Vieux-Port sera en place d’une plage urbaine, de convertir un ancien entrepôt en un centre international d’exposition et se développer et d’améliorer les espaces verts.

A l’ouest, dans le cadre de la plus 175 millions de dollars Montréal 2025 le plan, la ville est de modifier l’infrastructure de l’autoroute Bonaventure a soulevé, qui relie l’île de Montréal à la Rive-Sud de la ville. « Nous allons à la partie inférieure de l’autoroute au niveau du sol et de diviser les voies nord et sud dans les rues», explique M. Richard Deschamps, vice-président du comité exécutif de la ville pour le développement économique et l’infrastructure.

Déjà sur la bonne voie d’achèvement en 2014, « le plan intégrera le quartier Griffintown résidentiel, Vieux-Montréal et du centre-ville,« M. Deschamps dit, ajoutant que cette approche conviviale pour les piétons permettra de consolider et de renouveler le potentiel économique de la région. Juste un couple de rues plus au nord de Place d’Armes, la construction de la 2 milliards de dollars superhôpital du CHUM est également en cours d’achèvement en 2019.

Néanmoins, en dépit de toute cette activité, il ya une disparité dans la qualité de l’espace de bureau disponible. Certains propriétaires d’immeubles de longue date n’ont pas investi de l’argent en tournant autour de leurs actifs et sont assis sur les propriétés telles qu’elles étaient plus de 20 ans.

Le premier siège de la Banque Royale au 221 Saint-Jacques Ouest est restée vide depuis les années 1980 avant d’être ramassés pour un nouveau 43-condo de développement doit ouvrir ses portes en 2013, M. Chaput dit.

«Avec le taux d’inoccupation relativement faible à 5,6 pour cent, il ya une bonne demande pour les espaces de bureaux dans le Vieux-Montréal,« M. Maravita ajoute, « mais vous devez avoir le bon produit pour attirer les locataires dans le marché. » Poches de vieux bâtiments qui sont vides ou n’ont pas encore été rénovée existe des possibilités d’être repositionnés pour l’avenir.

Ceux qui cherchent à tirer parti, cependant, devraient se demander ce qu’ils vont faire avec la propriété pour en faire un investissement viable. « Vous devez vraiment avoir un but de ce que vous allez faire avec ces bâtiments,« M. Maravita dit, « parce que tout bien assis dans le Vieux-Montréal a des restrictions du patrimoine à ce sujet. »

Ces restrictions rendent les bâtiments très coûteux à rénover et beaucoup ont été négligés. «Souvent, les sols sont détraqué dans ces bâtiments», explique Robert Ruscio, un concepteur de détail qui a travaillé dans le domaine. « Dans un cas, nous sommes allés dans le sous-sol et a trouvé un problème avec l’une des poutres de soutien. »

Le stationnement est un autre inconvénient, M. Ruscio dit. « Il est très limitée et difficile à trouver. Les rues sont étroites et, parfois, vos clients ou employés recevront un billet. « C’est une question vitale pour ceux qui cherchent à créer ou acheter de l’espace bureau. « Il n’y a pas de parking souterrain et c’est l’inconvénient majeur de la région», fait écho à M. Maravita.

Bien que la ville reconnaît que le stationnement est un sujet de préoccupation », nous ramenant dans les rues pour les piétons», dit M. Deschamps. «Nous aimerions inviter les gens à marcher plus, prendre le métro, les bus et le système de vélo Bixi excellente location, nous avons mis au point. »

En fin de compte, la mentalité européenne du Vieux-Montréal est ce qui le rend unique, M. Ruscio dit, et il apprécie les efforts visant à tenir de cette façon. « Il n’y a aucun autre endroit en Amérique du Nord où vous pourrez découvrir le même sentiment de vieux monde en Europe», dit-il.



Laisser une réponse


Title X