Bonaventure Highway

Bonaventure Highway: “A new prestigious entrance”

Éric Clément
La Presse
19 juin 2009

The Société du Havre de Montréal (SHM) has convinced the City of Montreal to enhance the redevelopment of the Bonaventure Expressway at the gateway to the metropolis. The project is ambitious. It will create a modern, chic, green and pleasant. But to be environmentally friendly, it will create an exclusive corridor for buses bringing its cost from 142 to 228 million. And yet, if the Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT) is in agreement and if the Quebec government finance the difference, or 86 million.

According to the Mayor Gérald Tremblay, preliminary work underground infrastructure to pave the way for this new district would begin in the coming days. Avec trois mois de retard. With three months late. In May 2008, they were scheduled for March 2009. Collector Williams will be repaired and the Commission services carry out electrical repairs. But when will the deconstruction of the highway? We do not know yet. The mayor believes that the new entrance to the prestigious “will be completed in 2013.

The concept revolves around the central islands, the viaduct of the Canadian National Railway, the western front in the suburb of Récollets, the island of the Commune to the south, Dalhousie corridor to the west and the redevelopment of the corridor Bonaventure area where the highway will be lowered to the ground and transformed into urban street. The lowering of the highway will begin with a road down the apron between the streets of the town and Brennan. From the Brennan Street, the artery will be divided into two roads that split the movement on both sides of the central islands, on Duke Street to the north and south Nazareth.

Last year, the SHM had estimated the public cost of the project to 90 million. Indexed to the dollar today, it is returned to 101 million. But since there were over forty studies in planning, traffic, transportation, environment, archeology, and underground infrastructure for the preliminary road project.  Of these studies stem from the new subsidies: more green, more art, more beauty, more of contaminated soil to extract too. It reaches 142 million.

According to the chairman of the SHM, Isabelle Hudon, the creation of the Quartier Bonaventure, rather than the outright demolition of the freeway, offers economic benefits to governments and a return on investment assured for Montrealers. The amounts invested by the City and by the AMT will generate 6.7 times more private sector investment is 1.53 billion. . These investments will provide municipal revenues of 99 million for the sale of land, building permits and transfer taxes, and ultimately revenues of $ 32 million in taxes. The anticipated revenue for Quebec and Ottawa amounted to 224 million and 96 million.

The project is grandiose. Le maire est enthousiaste. The mayor is enthusiastic.  “I congratulate the whole team of the Société du Havre de Montréal and its consultants, including Cardinal Hardy firm, for the quality of the project to be submitted for consultation by the Office de consultation publique de Montréal” at he said Thursday in a press conference.

The SHM has recommended that the project is resolutely turned towards the future. Ms. Hudon stresses the importance of giving priority to public transport and active: pedestrians, bicycles, buses, tramways, hybrid cars, carpooling. Sept tracés transit systems were studied. The SHM recommends creating a corridor be reserved exclusively to transport in the Dalhousie Street, in particular to move more quickly to metropolitan bus terminal downtown.

But the project corridor falls within the AMT. The Department of Transport would support him. It must be said that 20 000 people from the south shore in this area arrive by bus each morning and 12 000 car.  The aim is to ensure that among the 12 000 drivers, 3 800 finally decided to use a transport to the place where the corridor will be created.

“But there should be greater frequency, better schedules and more comfortable service to be competitive with the car,” said Hudon, Thursday, noting that transit service ‘c’ is economically profitable for the city. ”

Responsible for transportation to the City of Montreal, counsel André Lavallée, the discussion of the corridor is consensus in the region.  “Everything indicates that the Ministry of Transport is quite comfortable with it,” he said.

The project was supported by “enthusiastic” in the body Transport 2000, the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and Dinu Bumbaru, program director of Héritage Montréal.

VIDEO: BONAVENTURE HIGHWAY

Autoroute Bonaventure: the dismantling launched within a year

Martin Croteau, La Presse

1 April 2010

The Tremblay administration wants to start the decommissioning of the Bonaventure in a year’s. But creating a corridor of public transport in Dalhousie Street will be revised in the wake of criticism from the Office de consultation publique de Montréal (COMP).

The first phase of $ 260 million, lowering the highway between Brennan Street, near the Lachine Canal, and the Rue Saint-Jacques, center, will go ahead as planned. But the City will review the corridor that would bring hundreds of buses to run every day in Dalhousie Street.

As revealed by The Press yesterday, COMP ranks behind the many citizens who have criticized the corridor at the public hearings held in January. The commissioners recommend instead to implement priority measures for buses on the Boulevard to prevent their passage near a residential area.

Chief Planning Executive Committee, the head of Projet Montréal, Richard Bergeron, who has been delegated by the Tremblay administration to respond to the report of the OPCM. He stressed that the first phase – the lowering of freeway – has been welcomed by the commissioners and the public, and that project will begin construction within a year.

However, the City will look for ways to allow buses to the South Shore to quickly earn the terminus of the Gauchetière they do not spend all the Dalhousie Street. The corridor was exclusively a temporary solution anyway, “says Bergeron. The City will explore the possibility of building a light rail that would borrow the Victoria Bridge to link the South Shore to downtown.

“The corridor Dalhousie, as it was designed so far is a thing of the past,” said Bergeron.

The Société du Havre de Montréal (SHM), mandated by the City to lead the project, will explore new scenarios. But its CEO, Jacques Côté, has not been able to say yesterday what options are envisaged to replace the corridor Dalhousie.

“I do not have answers, I can not give you,” he said. But you think about it and in three weeks, we will have them, those answers. ”

The opposition leader, Louise Harel, welcomed the findings of the COMP, which she denounced the construction of the corridor Dalhousie. She will present a motion at the next council meeting in late April, for the Tremblay administration is taking all the recommendations of the report.

“The abandonment of the corridor is one of the main recommendations of the report, she said. In reading, we say that we must make a first class burial. ”

Bonaventure District

The transformation of the highway Boulevard should allow a subdivision of 1.5 billion, the Bonaventure Expressway. Once down the highway, SHM proposes to reduce the number of channels and use the land thus cleared the center to erect residential buildings and offices. It would create an “entry premium” for the city.

Some speakers warned the public hearings that the subdivision could undermine the efforts undertaken by other developers to revitalize areas of the suburb of Griffin and monastery. In its report, the OPCM questioned the profitability of such a project.

Richard Bergeron pointed out that several real estate projects are already underway in the sector, and the Bonaventure Expressway will probably not be built until a good decade. In the meantime, the City will transform vacant lots into parks future.

Greenspace

“Then we’ll find in 10 years, in 15 years, in 20 years, what will become the state of thinking on the future of these lands,” said Bergeron. In the meantime, I do not hide it, the trees have grown and people are accustomed to the green space of 800 m long, less side streets. ”

http://www.cyberpresse.ca/actualites/regional/montreal/201004/01/01-4266433-autoroute-bonaventure-le-demantelement-lance-dici-un-an.php?utm_categorieinterne=trafficdrivers&utm_contenuinterne=envoyer_cbp



Leave a Reply


Title X

Autoroute Bonaventure

Autoroute Bonaventure: «Une nouvelle entrée de ville prestigieuse»

Éric Clément
La Presse
19 juin 2009

La Société du Havre de Montréal (SHM) a convaincu la Ville de Montréal de bonifier le réaménagement de l’autoroute Bonaventure aux portes de la métropole. Le projet est ambitieux. Il créera un quartier moderne, chic, vert et agréable. Mais pour qu’il soit écologique, il faudra créer un corridor exclusif pour autobus ce qui portera son coût de 142 à 228 millions. Et encore, si l’Agence métropolitaine de transport (AMT) est d’accord et si le gouvernement du Québec finance la différence, soit 86 millions.

À en croire le maire Gérald Tremblay, des travaux préliminaires d’infrastructures souterraines pour paver la voie à ce nouveau quartier commenceront dans les jours qui viennent. Avec trois mois de retard. En mai 2008, ils étaient prévus pour mars 2009. Le collecteur Williams sera réparé et la Commission des services électriques procédera à des réparations. Mais quand débutera la déconstruction de l’autoroute? On ne le sait pas encore. Le maire pense que la «nouvelle entrée de ville prestigieuse» sera terminée en 2013.

Le concept proposé s’articule autour des îlots centraux, du viaduc ferroviaire du Canadien National, du front ouest du faubourg des Récollets, de l’îlot de la Commune au sud, du corridor Dalhousie à l’ouest et du réaménagement du corridor Bonaventure, secteur où l’autoroute sera ramenée au sol et transformée en artère urbaine. L’abaissement de l’autoroute commencera par une descente du tablier routier entre les rues de la Commune et Brennan. À partir de la rue Brennan, l’artère sera divisée en deux chaussées qui répartiront la circulation de part et d’autre des îlots centraux, sur les rues Duke vers le nord et De Nazareth vers le sud.

L’an dernier, la SHM avait estimé le coût public du projet à 90 millions. Indexé au dollar d’aujourd’hui, on est rendu à 101 millions. Mais il y a eu depuis plus d’une quarantaine d’études en aménagement, circulation, transport, environnement, archéologie, infrastructures souterraines et pour l’avant-projet routier. De ces études découlent des bonifications nouvelles: plus de verdure, plus d’art, plus de beauté, plus de sols contaminés à extraire aussi. On arrive à 142 millions.

Selon la présidente de la SHM, Isabelle Hudon, la création du Quartier Bonaventure, plutôt que la démolition pure et simple de l’autoroute, offre des avantages économiques pour les gouvernements et un retour sur l’investissement assuré pour les Montréalais. Les sommes investies par la Ville et par l’AMT généreront 6,7 fois plus d’investissements du secteur privé, soit 1,53 milliard. Ces investissements procureront des revenus municipaux de 99 millions pour la vente de terrains, les permis de construction et les droits de mutation, et, à terme, des revenus de 32 millions en taxes foncières. Les revenus anticipés pour Québec et Ottawa s’élèvent à 224 millions et 96 millions.

Le projet est donc grandiose. Le maire est enthousiaste. «Je tiens à féliciter toute l’équipe de la Société du Havre de Montréal et ses consultants, notamment la firme Cardinal Hardy, pour la qualité du projet qui sera soumis prochainement à la consultation par l’Office de consultation publique de Montréal», a-t-il dit, jeudi, en conférence de presse.

La SHM a recommandé que le projet soit résolument tourné vers l’avenir. Mme Hudon insiste sur l’importance de donner la priorité au transport collectif et actif : les piétons, les vélos, les autobus, le tramway, les voitures hybrides, le covoiturage. Sept tracés de transport en commun ont été étudiés. La SHM recommande de créer un corridor exclusivement réservé au transport collectif dans la rue Dalhousie, notamment pour faire circuler plus rapidement les autobus métropolitains jusqu’au terminus du centre-ville.

Mais ce projet de corridor relève de l’AMT. Le ministère des Transports lui serait favorable. Il faut dire que 20 000 personnes de la rive-sud arrivent dans ce secteur par autobus chaque matin et 12 000 en automobile. L’objectif visé est de faire en sorte que parmi ces 12 000 automobilistes, 3 800 décident finalement d’utiliser un transport en commun à la place quand le corridor sera créé.

«Mais il faudra qu’il y ait une meilleure fréquence, de meilleurs horaires et un service plus confortable afin d’être concurrentiel par rapport à l’auto», a dit Mme Hudon, jeudi, rappelant que le transport en commun «c’est économiquement rentable pour la métropole».

Pour le responsable du transport à la Ville de Montréal, le conseiller André Lavallée, la discussion du corridor fait consensus dans la région. «Tout indique que le ministère des Transports est tout à fait à l’aise avec ça», dit-il.

Le projet a reçu le soutien «enthousiaste» de l’organisme Transport 2000, de la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain et de Dinu Bumbaru, directeur des programmes de l’organisme Héritage Montréal.

VIDEO: AUTOROUTE BONAVENTURE

Autoroute Bonaventure: le démantèlement lancé d’ici un an

Martin Croteau, La Presse

le 1er avril 2010

L’administration Tremblay veut lancer le démantèlement de l’autoroute Bonaventure d’ici un an. Mais la création d’un couloir de transports collectifs dans la rue Dalhousie sera révisée dans la foulée des critiques de l’Office de consultation publique de Montréal (OCPM).

La première phase du projet de 260 millions de dollars, l’abaissement de l’autoroute entre la rue Brennan, près du canal de Lachine, et la rue Saint-Jacques, au centre-ville, ira de l’avant comme prévu. Mais la Ville compte revoir le couloir qui devait amener des centaines d’autobus à circuler chaque jour dans la rue Dalhousie.

Comme l’a révélé La Presse hier, l’OCPM se range derrière les nombreux citoyens qui ont critiqué le couloir lors des audiences publiques tenues en janvier. Les commissaires recommandent plutôt d’implanter des mesures prioritaires pour les autobus sur le boulevard afin d’éviter leur passage près d’un secteur résidentiel.

Responsable de l’urbanisme au comité exécutif, c’est le chef de Projet Montréal, Richard Bergeron, qui a été délégué par l’administration Tremblay pour réagir au rapport de l’OPCM. Il souligne que la première phase du projet – l’abaissement de l’autoroute – a été bien accueillie par les commissaires et la population, et qu’elle sera mise en chantier d’ici un an.

La Ville va toutefois étudier de nouveaux moyens pour permettre aux autobus de la Rive-Sud de gagner rapidement le terminus de la Gauchetière sans qu’ils ne passent tous par la rue Dalhousie. Le couloir exclusif était une solution temporaire de toute façon, souligne M. Bergeron. La Ville étudiera la possibilité de bâtir un train léger qui emprunterait le pont Victoria pour relier la Rive-Sud au centre-ville.

«Le couloir Dalhousie, tel qu’il a été conçu jusqu’ici, c’est chose du passé», a affirmé M. Bergeron.

La Société du Havre de Montréal (SHM), mandatée par la Ville pour piloter le projet, étudiera de nouveaux scénarios. Mais son PDG, Jacques Côté, n’a pas été en mesure de dire hier quelles options sont envisagées pour remplacer le couloir Dalhousie.

«Je n’ai pas les réponses, je ne peux pas vous les donner, a-t-il indiqué. Mais on y réfléchit et dans trois semaines, on va les avoir, ces réponses.»

La chef de l’opposition, Louise Harel, s’est réjouie des conclusions de l’OCPM, elle qui a dénoncé la construction du couloir Dalhousie. Elle compte présenter une motion à la prochaine réunion du conseil municipal, à la fin d’avril, pour que l’administration Tremblay donne suite à toutes les recommandations du rapport.

«L’abandon du couloir, c’est l’une des principales recommandations du rapport, a-t-elle affirmé. En le lisant, on se dit qu’il faut en faire un enterrement de première classe.»

Quartier Bonaventure

La transformation de l’autoroute en boulevard doit permettre un lotissement de 1,5 milliard, le Quartier Bonaventure. Une fois l’autoroute abaissée, la SHM propose d’en réduire le nombre de voies et d’utiliser les terrains ainsi dégagés au centre pour ériger des immeubles résidentiels et de bureaux. Elle créerait ainsi une «entrée de prestige» pour la métropole.

Certains intervenants des audiences publiques ont prévenu que le lotissement pourrait miner les efforts entamés par d’autres promoteurs pour revitaliser les secteurs de Griffintown et du faubourg des Récollets. Dans son rapport, l’OPCM a remis en question la rentabilité d’un tel projet.

Richard Bergeron souligne que plusieurs projets immobiliers sont déjà en branle dans le secteur, et que le Quartier Bonaventure ne sera probablement pas construit avant une bonne décennie. D’ici là, la Ville transformera les futurs terrains vacants en parcs.

Espaces verts

«On verra bien ensuite, dans 10 ans, dans 15 ans, dans 20 ans, ce que sera devenu l’état de la réflexion sur l’avenir de ces terrains, a indiqué M. Bergeron. Dans l’intervalle, je ne vous le cache pas, les arbres auront grossi et les gens se seront habitués à cet espace vert de 800 m de long, moins les rues transversales.»

http://www.cyberpresse.ca/actualites/regional/montreal/201004/01/01-4266433-autoroute-bonaventure-le-demantelement-lance-dici-un-an.php?utm_categorieinterne=trafficdrivers&utm_contenuinterne=envoyer_cbp



Laisser une réponse


Title X